RCR’s Guardian Angel

8 12 2010

AJ writes from the RCR Missouri chapter:

Another long and exciting season has come to an end for RCR, and as befits the holiday season and coming new year, we’re looking back to appreciate and be thankful for another year on the bike. The support we get from our friends, families and sponsors allows us to saddle up and enjoy riding and racing in ways that would not be possible otherwise.  In particular, we’d like to thank Kirsten Henderson, Sales Manager at Recycled Cycles.

The racing team has been lucky to have Kirsten as an amazing supporter and advocate for years now.  She helps us schedule team meetings, coordinates orders with sponsors, and takes the time to help us all out as individuals. A few examples:

“She’s helped me with obscure orders and fielded a bothersome onslaught of my phone calls in the past – all with a welcoming smile.”  – Todd S.

“Last year at the Enumclaw Stage Race I blew the side out of my Zipp during the crit. I managed to finish with a wheel from the pit, but was SOL for the following day’s road race. I called Kirsten on my way back to Seattle, she told  me to swing by the shop to check a set of Ksyriums they had just brought in. She  let me “test ride” them for the day’s road race (complete downpour), completely  saving me from a DNS.”  – Rod G.

“I emailed her about an aluminum bike for my girlfriend less than a  month ago,  and she walked me through the ordering process. I thought there would beat few weeks lead time. She just wrote to tell me that, surprise!,  it’s ready to go.” – Ian S.

“After a number of visits to the punchbowl at the annual Justice League Thanksgiving bash over at Wayne Manor, I decided I’d best give the cape a rest and take a cab home. The next morning, was I in a bind!  An NPR special bulletin broke into Car Talk: Lex Luthor had used residual heat from the  Mt. St. Helen’s eruption to melt a billion pounds of Fran’s chocolate, and he was hauling it north to repave the Burke Gilman!  With my cape still back at the Manor, I was flightless! Well, I just made a quick call down to Recycled Cycles, and  Kirsten pulled a 1960 Cinelli Pista off the ceiling as a loaner so I could head Lex off at Tacoma. Since I was  already in the super-skinsuit (Castelli, of course), I super-spun down there hella fast to save the day, but I couldn’t have done it without Kirsten.”  – Kal “Superman” E.

That last one might not be true, it’s just what I heard. Regardless, Kirsten has logged at least a marathon’s worth of extra miles for me personally, including shipping me TWO new bikes after moving to Missouri this past summer.

Recycled Cycles Racing would not be what it is year after year without Kirsten’s passion and dedication (and patience).  From the whole team, thank you Kirsten!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

